Raspberry Pi Camera Wifi Ground Range Testing

Inspired by the results from the gstreamer latency testing, I wanted to check the usable WiFi range before getting airborne.

With my portable power setup, I took a trip to our local playing field one lunchtime and set the Raspberry Pi on the roof of my car in the car park pointing it towards the far end.

2013-11-03 11.58.21

Everything was switched on, the WiFi link was established to the laptop and the stream started.  I used the Strava app on my phone to record the GPS track. Finally I started walking up the field monitoring the stream to check for drop-out.  At the far end of the field, I still had a solid stream.  I could have gone further, but the Raspberry Pi would have been out of sight where anyone passing could have just walked off with it.

Feeding the GPS output into Google Earth gave a distance of 212 metres (232 yards).

GroundRangeTest

Based on this encouraging result, the next step is to load the Pi+Camera onto an aircraft.

Leave a Reply

